Mama’s gettin old

Today my friend Melissa came to visit. It was so good to see her! I told my son that Mel and I have known each other since we were two years old. Of course to a 7 year old, that’s beyond eternity. So, he’s trying to imagine me as a child, with some difficulty, and he asks: “Did they have televisions when you were a kid?” Yes, they did. “Were they the old fashioned kind?” How does one answer that? In my opinion, no. However, in thinking about it, I do remember when cable tv came to the neighborhood, which was a big deal at the time. And I remember when tv shows advertised being ‘in stereo.’ Pretty soon the kids will be giving me the questions, “did you have electricity?” etc. And I’ll be able to tell them how I had to walk to school. Uphill. Both ways. With no shoes. Okay, maybe not, but I did have to walk to the corner bus stop, which I’m sure was just the same.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa Austin
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 21:06:00

    I had a great time today! I was a Little House on the Praire picture book to my 1st graders once and a little darling asked me if I had a stove like the Laura and Mary did in the book. I very clearly told them NO…with a little bit of a whine in my voice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

