Lights Out

I’m not sure about other parents with babies in NICU but for me every time I go to the hospital there is a combination of complete excitement to see my baby and a spike of stress as I get closer to NICU. What happened while I was away? If it was something major they’d call, but lots of minor troubles can happen and I don’t find out till I’m there. Another Brady? Bilirubin levels going up? Problems eating? etc. etc. All this runs through my mind as I’m walking down the halls to the NICU. The unit at J’s hospital is locked so when you arrive you call at the door, then you go in, wash your hands, and walk down the hall to sign in. Then you finally get to go see your baby. We walk past J’s room to sign in and I always try to get a glimpse of his bed as I go by. All I have been able to see lately is the glow from his bili lights. Today I walked down the hallway and there was no glow. Yesterday he could barely be out from under them and today there was no lights? I couldn’t sign in fast enough. I walk in his room (called a pod…holds up to seven babies) and there he is. The lights were out. J was just sleeping peacefully in his incubator. The bili light was there, but it was off. No sunglasses. No tanning. In addition to that, J looked a bit different. However I couldn’t place the difference at first. Then I realize…he has a onesie on! The first time he’s EVER worn clothes! A simple onesie was so very exciting! Since he wasn’t under the lights and his temp was good I was able to hold him the entire time I was there. Tonight Matt and I went back and we again got to hold him the whole time. Life is good.


It’s possible he’ll have to go under the lights again; sometimes the bilirubin levels go back up. Please pray his stay down. Overall he’s doing well though. He’s eating well. In fact today he topped his birth weight by an ounce! His biggest hurdle at this point are the Bradies. He needs to stop having episodes of low heartrate/breathing. He also had a small amount of bleeding on his brain, which if is doesn’t get infected, do any more damage, etc. shouldn’t be an issue at all. Please pray that it clears up with no complications. Thanks so much for your prayers! I’m trying to not get to excited about when he might come home; he still has a ways to go. But he’s doing well! And we are so grateful! This momma was floating as I left the hospital!

Not the greatest picture, but you get the idea. A baby with clothes on. I never knew it’d be such a cause to celebrate!
11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 22:43:15

    Such great news. Love the pic – he's happy to be held by his family who loves him so much. (Sharon Hewitt)

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 04:47:30

    Thanks for the very detailed post, Chel. It felt like I was with you, walking down the corridor, and then waiting with you at the secured entrance (the safety part of me loved readiing about that/ hand hygiene/signing in; entering Jace's room, seeing him in his onesie. I thank God you are in Birmingham, this didn't happen on the road or up north (akkk!), and you are in a safe, supportive place. Have a good day.Love Kathi

    Reply

  3. ChattiKathi
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 04:48:55

    You guys are loved and in our prayers!

    Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 05:54:23

    So awesome Chel … its always good to start off my day with a cry. LOL Im such a sap. Ill keep praying!! ❤ Melissa Moran

    Reply

  5. auntmel
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 06:05:39

    I am so glad to hear the progress that Jace is making. God is good.

    Reply

  6. Rochelle Dozeman
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 06:58:10

    Praise God from whom all blessings flow! What great progress Jace is making. We are continuing to pray for physical strength for him and mental for you all. Love ya's

    Reply

  7. Val Elmergreen
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 07:19:23

    How exciting, I remember Tiffany was under the bili lights for eight days and I was always so anxious to hold her and at that time I remember the nurse told me that they like the moms holding their babies, the body to body time calmed them down and actually produced improvement. Prayers continue my friend.

    Reply

  8. Donna
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 07:35:51

    Oh Chel, I got chills with this one. I am so excited for you for Jace's improvement and will continue to keep your family in my prayers. I can not imagine how it must have felt to hold Jace the whole visit yesterday. How are you doing?

    Reply

  9. Jen G
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 07:39:31

    So happy he's doing so well – and that he's clothed! Will continue to pray that each day brings great progress and he can come home SOON. Tried to post the other day regarding your previous post, but lost my connection the minute I was done typing. Anyway – when my nephew was a premie, the docs said that you have to measure his progress/"skills" based on his DUE date and not his BIRTH date. Went a long way toward developing realistic expectations and soothing worries that early milestones/behaviors weren't what they should be for his age.

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 07:49:29

    It is an excellent picture to see this morning! Hurray! Your description in this post helps us to understand; thanks for that. "Lights out"–a very big positive! I prayed for Jace this morning, and then I read this post. God is good. Pam

    Reply

  11. Anonymous
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 09:58:14

    Yay!!!! This is such good news! I bet you were floating out of the hospital when you left! We'll just keep praying! I'm so happy to hear the progress. 🙂 He's quite a tropper!-Jam

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

