Bama Life

Two months in Alabama…hard to believe! So much has happened since we moved here. I thought I’d post some pictures to give you a sample of our life here so far.


Let me start with the bugs. Wood Roaches to be exact. I hate them. A lot. They are very common in our apartment, the garage, and the outdoors. They’re frequent on the floors, but I’ve also seen them on the kitchen counter and climbing up glass. In these pics one climbed into a spaghetti jar in the garage and couldn’t get out. He‘s average size; we often get them both bigger and smaller in our apartment. K calls them crabs. I asked a guy yesterday if one ever gets used to them…he said Never. I thought I disliked bugs in Michigan, those are like cute little pets now! The guy added the roaches here you can put a leash on and take for a walk! Ewwwwww.

Here’s another critter we have running around, but I’ve only seen this one so far; S has seen more. These I don’t mind. I took this pic through the screen because I knew he’d run away if I tried to get closer. He’s sitting on our porch rail. Kind of cute, isn’t he? He’d be even cuter if he scared away the roaches!

Okay, southern folks, anyone know what this tree is? I saw it the other day and it reminded me of M & M’s growing on a tree!

Our apartment has an attached garage with a little driveway. There’s no playground here, which I hate, but at least K can ride her bike in our driveway. Our apartment is behind the garage and can’t be seen in the first picture. The second picture is our front walk. The windows are K’s room and one of the bathrooms. The third pic is the pool in the complex. Nice, isn’t it?


Another type of critter around our apartment is ducks. Ugly ones. Really ugly ducks. And as of yet, no swans. They wander all over, even on to porches occasionally, looking for someone to give them food. I don’t think I’ve ever seen ducks this ugly!
This is a pic from Matt’s office building. I have to say, apart from the roaches and snakes, this is definitely a pretty part of the country!
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen G
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 17:04:54

    OK – I was curious about the tree, since the leaves looked so much like Magnolia. Sure enough – what those M&Ms are is the seed pod for a Magnolia. Come spring, those trees will be gorgeous.Ew on the bugs. is there some sort of perimeter spray/treatment you could do to minimize or eliminate them?

    Reply

  2. Chel
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 19:09:26

    ooh, thanks for identifying the tree for me! No, M&M's in the spring then? The apartment complex is willing to spray every week. I'm not convinced of the efficacy of that. It seems like I see more of them when they spray! The bugs end belly up in the apartment after they spray. Not dead, mind you, but dying. It's really lovely.

    Reply

  3. Donna
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 08:17:13

    Ewwww, on the bugs and that duck is pretty ugly! Your apartment looks beautiful and the pool looks like fun too. Sounds like you are handling it better than I would be though.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 14:20:05

    In the last 15 years, I've been in the south several times to see magnolias in bloom, but never saw the seedpods. I never would have guessed! Of course, I'm the one at a wedding in Lynchburg, Virginia, who said to the (unknown to me) mother of the bride, "What kind of flowers are those?" And she looked at me like I was an alien!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

