Bunny slippers


If you’re wondering what you’re looking at it’s a pile of dirty socks and pajamas. With some bunny slippers peeking out. I was sitting in the bathroom this week (in a place where I sit sometimes) and this was my view. I was struck by the cuteness of the bunny slippers. As they poked out of the laundry at me all I could think was how lucky I am. Granted I haven’t had a decent nights sleep in months and the most intellectual I seem to get these days is watching ‘Sid the Science Kid’ and studying fourth grade Alabama history. But I’m lucky. I have three amazing kids and a great husband.

Apparently it was a melancholy day because as I was rocking J later the same day I was thinking again how lucky I am. I was rocking J and desperately attempting to sooth his colic. It can make for a frazzling evening when you’ve got a screaming infant and two other children who need attention, not to mention the meal that is half cooked. However, just a couple months ago J was in the hospital and I was apart from him every night. So rocking him, screams and all, is a gift.

Life is a bit lonely for us in Alabama. It takes time to get to know people and build friendships, and it takes even longer when you have an infant (because you’re home a lot more). But we’re glad we have each other (most of the time).

Now if you were to hang out at our home, these are some of the things you might hear:
watch me!” (very common from two of the three children)
BRAINS!” (this is apparently what one says when they’re imitating a zombie. Which is apparently very fun when you’re in fourth grade. Last night we were privileged to witness a game of zombie hide and seek. Quite the interesting twist on the game. I’m still not sure how it works exactly, but there is lots of laughter and shrieks involved.)
Can I have some candy from my pumpkin?” (this has been a frequent occurrence since October 31)
Underwear doesn’t go on the kitty.” (This involved a toddler and a kitty. Nuff said.)
I go talk to ladies?!” (K loves to visit the ladies in the office at our apartments. They usually have candy or cookies. They’ll never get rid of my children.)
Do you want to change J’s diaper?” (I’m not sure why Matt and I ask each other this when we know the answer before we ask.)

All in all, life is good. I have been blessed with a great family. Most days I want to keep them forever, though every once in a while I’d sell them cheap. I’m sure I’d change my mind immediately, so if you see my add on Craigslist, just ignore it. One look at some bunny slippers and I’ll melt all over again.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 15:30:47

    A thought while I was reading: in a few years you'll look back and find yourselves saying, "Remember that first year in Alabama, before Sam got so big and we didn't know people? We were all really close then." That might make now a little nicer, but ouch, the reality of the future when kids grow up and things get busy outside the home! I guess we all know we enjoy today, because life brings transitions and new milestones. … In my family: the very last high school football game was played last week, and Meghan isn't going to swim this year, which means the last HS sport is over — everyone is sad. On to a new phase in life!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

