Sick

Today is one of those days where I’m sick of being a parent. I’m sick of the constant need to be ‘on’, the never ending list of tasks, the need to volley between children (this one is crying, this one needs help, this one needs food, and all three need more attention and love than I have in me today.) And I’m sick. Which is really the crux of the matter. I’ve been sick for a few days and am tired of feeling lousy. I long for the days when I was single and could just hole up on my couch for hours, or if needed days, till I felt better.


Now don’t get me wrong, if anyone were to take one of my children I’d rustle up the energy to do some major damage. I’m well aware my kids are an amazing gift. However, today I feel a bit whiny (and congested) and thought I’d get it off my chest. You ever have those moments? You dream of trading your life for a few minutes but you know you’d be devastated if you did.

J wants me to hold him while he sleeps, K wants me to play with her, S wants me to listen to him. All reasonable desires, but not possible at the same time, especially when I feel lousy. So I’ll do my best, which ain’t so good today, and remember I have other days to make it up to them.

Okay, I feel a bit better. I’ll take some meds for my headache and attack dinner. Hopefully the kids will cooperate…otherwise maybe we’ll enjoy pb&j tonight. And amidst the coughing and sniffling I’ll try to take time to enjoy my gifts. But I’ll might still dream of laying around.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 18:07:25

    I send you a big hug. I wish you could send them on over, but for a reason known only to God, He sent you off to a far away place. Your feelings of today are certainly understandable. Hope you feel better soon. Pb&j sounds great; knowing that momma doesn't feel good creates compassionate children.

    Reply

  2. Donna
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 17:36:25

    Chel, I totally understand. I have had the flu all week and these kids do not understand what that means. Today I told them I hope they get it just so they know how miserable it is to be this sick and then I will be the loud annoying one towards them! I know not the same, but it came out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

