I got to smell it

Today was a gorgeous fall day. Lower 70’s, sunny, with an oh so slight breeze. I decided to take the little ones for a walk around the apartment complex (we really know excitement, don’t we?) We walked along discussing flags, leaves, and crocodiles (J was quite quiet on all those subjects.) And then it happened. I caught a whiff of a scent I haven’t smelled in over year. I stopped, but it was gone. I dragged K back near the spot in hopes of smelling it again. There is was. A beautiful aroma: rotting leaves. Not many things smell good as they’re rotting, but I really think leaves do. Mainly maple leaves. There’s nothing better than walking through a path covered with the beautiful leaves, kicking and smelling them as you go. Delightful. Our apartment complex is very efficient at cleaning up leaves every week. They definitely see beauty differently than I do! The leaves we smelled today are already gone, but for a few minutes I was able to savor an aroma I love so much. And I thanked God for some touches of ‘Michigan’ in Alabama. (I even found a bag of small Macintosh apples at the store last week! Woohoo!)


We do get some lovely colors in Bama!

K by the ‘spot.’

I don’t know what this bush is, but it was really pretty on our walk. When we were near it K ‘saw’ a lion who wanted to go with us on our walk. (She also rescued a zebra from the tennis court. The girl loves to watch cartoons about rescuing animals!) I told her the lion could walk with us, but he couldn’t come in the house. To live in our house he’d have to be willing to have his fur colored by K, the resident stylist. I’m not willing to chance it with a lion. Even a talking Alabama lion.

We miss our friends and family much, but we certainly enjoy fall days like this at the end of November!
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sue frolander
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 14:03:27

    Chel I had no idea about your blog! How awesome. It has me weepy over Jaces (Jases)? birth day Read the blog about walking by the aroma of rotting leaves. How can I follow more? Sue Fro.

    Reply

  2. wordsfromchel
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 14:15:03

    Thanks! I’ve been fairly inconsistent with writing, but working getting better about that!
    I’ll message you the password.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

