Word for the Year

It’s 2011. I’m still trying to comprehend that. I just heard a song on the radio that came out at least 25 years ago. I remember listening to it on the radio when it was first popular. Oh my. Maybe I was in utero and I remember it? Nope. Nor was I in my crib. Time goes faster the older I get.


When I was in high school my friend and I used to write lists of words we liked and hated. Odd, you say? Maybe. (Odd was one of the words on the list, by the way.) That was how we killed time during boring lectures. I still remember a few of the words.

If I were working on the list today I would have a new word on the ‘like’ side. In fact, it’s my new very favorite word for 2011. “Normal.” My heart does a little flip flop just thinking of this word. The world suddenly gets sunny, flowers bloom dramatically, birds start singing beautifully, and a charming song plays in the background. Okay, maybe I’ve seen too many sappy commercials. Nevertheless, “normal” is a great word. Especially when it comes from the nurse who called regarding the results for the x-rays of J’s head. “Normal” is absolutely fantastic.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mel
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 21:42:36

    LOVE IT!!

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 06:09:50

    It is not only fantastic, it is an answer to prayer that he is normal in every way. God has done a wonder in Jace and this is just one more miracle from God. Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

