Bits and pieces

I live in a little ‘bit’ of the world. A very little piece. Even though on many days it feels very all-encompassing, it isn’t. It’s just a tiny fragment of time and space. A well-loved fragment, but still just a fragment. In our little bit of the world not much is happening these days. Dad goes to work. S goes to school but is done playing basketball for this year. K dances around the apartment and plays. J rolls and plays and is learning to eat ‘solid’ food. Mom cooks and plays and tries to maintain a minimum level of cleanliness in our little bit of the world, with the emphasis on minimum!


Some days it feels like too much. Some days I dream of having a different place to live. Or being back ‘home’ in Michigan. I definitely dream of having a full night of sleep. I dream of having a date night with my husband. I dream of hanging out with my friends and family.

However, in another bit of the world today, someone walked on a pile of rubble that was their home yesterday. An earthquake and tsunami destroyed their plans for the day. Maybe for the year. Maybe for the rest of their lives.

In another piece of the world others are still trying to rebuild from the earthquake that hit last month. And the one that hit last fall.

In one bit of the world there is a little girl named Willow who has fluid on her brain. She is two months old. She will have to have surgery. Her parents wait anxiously for more testing and information to find out the cause, the treatment, and the prognosis.

In other pieces of the world there are children waiting on the US Government to get permission to come live with their new adoptive families in the States. Their families anxiously wait to be together.

In another piece of the world there is a huge civil war going on. People are having the courage to fight a leader who has been in power for over forty years. They currently seem to be losing.

In other bits of the world people are sold as slaves. Others sit in hospitals. I could go on and on about various pieces of the world, and I’m sure you could as well. These are just the ones on my mind today.

My little part of the planet is seeming brighter and brighter, you know what I mean?

Do you ever wonder what to do? I don’t want to be self absorbed and forget how blessed I am. Today I went out to my van with no concern about it being rigged with a bomb. Tonight there is an extremely small likelihood my town will be covered in water with buildings and people floating away. I don’t expect to get beaten today (or anytime, for that matter.)

I want to pray for other bits around the world but sometimes that seems overwhelming. Does it make a difference? Where do I begin? I do believe it makes a difference, but I feel insignificant. Also, it’s so much easier to pray for specifics. I’m so glad God doesn’t need specifics! Yet, it’s still a struggle for me. What do you do? How do you pray? How do you keep perspective?

I’m sure the people searching for their loved ones would appreciate our prayers. I know Willow’s parents would be very grateful for our prayers. I know another family, we’ll call them M., would appreciate prayers for the US Gov’t to work quickly so their daughter can come home soon. I would imagine the people in war torn areas would love our prayers for peace and freedom.

Back to my little bit of the world… We are well. J and K went to the doctor yesterday. J is up to 19.5 pounds. I was concerned about a couple things in his development, but the doctor checked him out and he is fine. K is also doing great. She weighs 28 pounds. Yes, that is nine pounds more than J!

If you recall, we received a notice from the State of Alabama saying J needs his hearing checking again because he is at risk for hearing loss. The doctor said he’ll be checked again when he is around two years old. One of the medications he was on in NICU can cause hearing loss when taken for an extended period. It likely won’t be an issue for J because he was only on it a few days. However, we still need to follow up on it when he’s older.

I’m including two pics…one of spring. We have trees here that break out in white blooms. They are so pretty! A week or so ago they were all white and when you saw them at a distance they looked like they were covered in snow. Here is a picture from our apartment:


This picture I recently took accidentally. It’s not a great picture, but it does slightly capture the size difference in J’s pupils. The pupil on the left (his right eye) is larger. The dimmer the lighting, the easier it is to see, but harder to get a good picture.



Once again I’m reminded of how J has come through so many health scares already…and he’s still made it to 19.5 pounds!

I hope you are well in your little bit of the world. I’d love to hear about it. I imagine you’ll keep remembering and praying for other bits of the world. Maybe we can remind each other of things going on in various pieces on the planet. We can pray together for large parts, such as the people of Japan, and little parts, such as baby Willow. Maybe we can help each other maintain some perspective when our own piece gets really messy.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 21:13:34

    After hearing about the earthquake, I began to think that my worries were nothing in comparison. But thank you so much for remembering Willow. It means so much. I also know a family waiting for their adoptive son to come home from Haiti. I will help you become more significant as the more who pray the louder the voice. Hugs to your family.

    Reply

  2. Jen G
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 22:09:38

    Such a great piece, Chel. Thank you for sharing what many of us often feel – that overwhelming sense of futility when facing what's happening all over.On my prayer list right now, I have an 8 month old, two 9 year olds, two mothers of young kids, and two grandparents/parents – all of them fighting cancer. And those are just people I know, all but two of them from our church. It hurts to think of how much these families are enduring. How, as a parent, do you watch your son lose all his faculties, his brain ravaged by cancer? Having adopted kids, working for an advocacy agency, and being part of a leadership team at church, promoting the plight of orphans and foster kids, I'm also frequently overwhelmed by how much need there is.But, I then reflect on the wonders of creation, especially at this time of year. Think of the variety. Remember what you learned in science and biology, the minutia of cells and photosynthesis. And I'm reminded of how powerful our God is. He made each of these people, knows their insides better than any doctor.He doesn't really need us to ask Him to do things. He lets us, so we have some sort of outlet for our desire to be useful, to "do something." And He gives us knowledge, passion, and physical abilities to affect whatever change we can: encouraging the waiting family, cleaning the house of the mom who's in the hospital with cancer, providing respite care for a foster family, and praying for healing from cancer and wisdom for parents/doctors. And that's what He calls us to do: use the talents and resources to the best of our ability to impact the lives we come in contact with. Not BEYOND our ability. Not BEYOND our capacity or reach. If each of us work away in our sphere of reach, together we can cover – effectively – a lot of ground.It's like that guy on the seashore, tossing stranded starfish back into the water, saving merely a few dozen of the hundreds tossed onto the beach by the tide. He didn't look at what he COULDN'T do, but what he COULD do, knowing his effort, small as it was in scope, made a difference to the ones that were saved. I've adopted two kids; there are so many left. But it matters to these two – and all the generations that come from them. Small action, but it changed history, really.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

