Disappearing

My husband is disappearing before my eyes. You’d think I’d be stressed about it, but I’m not. I’m actually really happy.


No, I’m not mad at Matt. He decided this is his year to get healthier. I LOVE this decision. Love love love it. The apartment complex we live in has been having a ‘Biggest Loser’ contest and they’ve had boot camps, running group, nutrition class, etc. offered free to residents. This has been fabulous. Matt has been working out several times per week. Even the kids go with Matt to exercise and they love it. Well, technically J will not go. He should, he’s in the 75th percentile for his weight! I’m really proud of Matt for how hard he’s been working, especially when he often has the ‘assistance’ of a 9 and 3 year old. Matt’s been getting to know residents here through this process, which has been really nice. There’s a core group of people who have been working out and it’s been good to get to know them a little. Plus, it’s so much easier when you can work out with others rather try to stay motivated by yourself! The lady who teaches the classes is Emily, or Miss Emily as we call her. The kids love her. She does a kids’ exercise group on Friday afternoons, which is a highlight of the week for my kids. Over spring break she even did other classes with the kids doing crafts, healthy snack-making, etc. It was great for the kids and great for Moms to have something else for the kids to do!

If the exercising wasn’t enough thanks to a Facebook post I learned about another diet. One morning I was thinking about how my husband is a carb addict. Seriously. He’d prefer eat carbs with a side of carbs and then some carbs for desert. All smothered in cheese whenever possible. Well, I was thinking about that and later the same day I’m on Facebook and a great lady named Candace posted something about the Carb Lovers Diet (www.carblovers.com). You know those moments when you feel like the sun is pointing to you in a giant beam and all the birds are singing in unison around you? Ahaaaaaaa!!! This is the diet! I sent the info to Matt and even he got excited about it. The premise of the diet is great. Carbs aren’t bad (to which most of us say, Hallelujah!), but we need to be eating good carbs.

My husband has really liked this diet because he hasn’t had to be hungry. A diet where you can feel full and lose weight? Bonus! What I love about it is I get to incorporate more things in our meals Matt previously refused to eat: barley, brown rice, zucchini, etc. He has historically hated these foods and now he likes them, at least in certain recipes. I am so excited! I am even developing a tolerance for peppers myself. I love when our family’s tastes expand. I live with a man who thought that was almost impossible, especially when it comes to grains and vegetables. Matt and I have both lost weight and I haven’t even been trying. Extra bonus!

So if you don’t recognize the much stronger, skinnier guy I’m with the next time you see us…that’s my great husband.
Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

