Words

I have a thing for preschoolers.  I like them.  A lot.  Although their unrelenting energy and questions are exhausting, they are an absolutely fabulous group of people.  When Dad and S and I became a family S was four and completely adorable.  I fell in love quickly. (With S; Dad took a little longer.)  Now I officially have another preschool aged child and I love it.  Well, except for the unrelenting energy and questions.  But the rest of it.  Little kids learn so stinking fast, it blows your mind.  I think it blows theirs occasionally too, as they’re trying to take in new info and assimilate it all.  One of the best side effects of this is their language.  It is so fun to listen to them try to use a new word or phrase.  Since most of you aren’t able to see my kids very often, I thought I’d include a few of K’s classics:


Softerly – this appears to be a combination of softer and quietly.  She’s already phasing this one out of her vocab, which is sad, because I think it’s better than the ‘original’ words.


Warmer – this actually means cooler.  She wants it not hot, but warmer.  So when you’re running water for her and she asks for it to be ‘warmer,’ turn on the cold.  However, there is approximately a two degree window which is the ‘correct’ temperature for her (where it is warmer rather than too hot or cold), so good luck with that.


Fark – Fart.  Not that anyone in my household does that.  We’ve just heard about others.


Got For – my absolute favorite.  I’ll be so sad when she figures this one out.  It means “forgot” as in “You got for your bag.”  Or sometimes she’ll add an extra ‘got’ for good measure: “You got for got your bag.”


Tay-kle – Tickle, as in “That TAY-KLES!”


oooOOOOOoooo, that’s your meaning!”  This is another fun one when she understands something you’re trying to tell her.


“I want to jungle!”  Can you guess?  No, you can’t.  I’ll give you a hint: it doesn’t involve trees, vines, or jumping.  Still don’t know?  Here’s another clue: she started using it the first night we played Go Fish.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    May 19, 2011 @ 19:29:29

    Shuffle? Shuffle the cards? These are very adorable. You'll be so glad you wrote them down, because as much as you think you'll never forget them…well, you know. One day you can go back and print out this blog as a book. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Chel
    May 19, 2011 @ 19:47:24

    Good job, Aunt Pam! (as Kianna would say) You're right, I had already forgotten about 'softerly', and it's only been a month or so! I've tried to write a few down to help me remember them. I've already looked through the blog and Facebook to write things in Jace's baby book! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

