Beds

My plans for Saturday were quickly thwarted when J came into my room.  Although I normally love to see him this time I was not thrilled. I had just put him down for a nap.  In his bed.  Where he was supposed to stay.  Apparently the little bugger cherub figured out how to get out of his crib.  I knew this day was coming, but I was thinking more along the lines of junior high and apparently he thought he’d better hurry before September was over.  I quickly readjusted my agenda to include changing beds around.  K would get the crib (transformed to a toddler bed and soon to be a twin bed) and J would get K’s toddler bed.  K’s bed had been put together incorrectly (which wasn’t a big deal at the time because she no longer needed the side rails), so I had to take both it and the crib apart and put them back together.  Then switch then rooms.  It was right around this time when I learned the crib (ie transformed toddler bed) does not fit through the doorway.  So I took it apart, again, this time with S’s help, and then moved and reassembled it. Oops.

The process was stressful thanks to the assembly/reassembly process and J’s (victorious) nap boycott.  However it was also successful!  Until poor K became really sad because she didn’t want her ‘new bed’ after all.  (Oh, how I wished I had the twin mattresses to make her bed a big one!)  Thankfully I found a solution to help her.  What does a girl need to feel better?  A little bling!

Image

Image

(It’s not the most exciting bling, but it was late in the day and we needed a quick solution.  The important thing is K liked it!!)

Finally the new beds were set up and J’s was ready for bedtime.  Now it was time for Mom to be a little emotional.  I kept thinking back to his very first bed. How far he has come!!

 Image

Image

He is loving his big boy bed!  Now if only he’d STAY in it at bedtime!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gwen lasher
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 15:02:11

    He ceretainly has come a long way from his day in ths world. he has grown into quite a great little boy. Wish he was closer, and all of you too

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 15:38:54

    Wow. Can’t believe he’s upgraded already! Love the make-shift bling.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

