Summer Bucket List

The past few months (about 12, I believe) we’ve had significant vehicle issues.  Significant.  Popped tires, dead alternator, misc broken parts, transmissions (yes, plural), and a blown engine.  (These is particularly important if you want to use your vehicle to get places.  However, I can get you a great deal on a large paperweight if you’re interested.)  Despite all these issues no one has gotten hurt.  Nor where the kids with us any time a vehicle broke down mid-journey.  Those are big things for which to be grateful!!

Because of the vehicle issues the kids and I have been home.  A lot.  I’ve had to be creative to keep us from going completely crazy.  Thanks to Pinterest and other internet sites I have started a ‘bucket list’ for summer activities for us.  It’s been really cool.  Today’s was awesome and I highly recommend it!  Easy prep with two hours of payoff.  A momma can’t ask for better than that!!

I got the idea from here to make a block of ice to dig into.  First I collected some of the kids’ toys that could handle being wet and frozen.  Then  I took a big wash basin and filled it with water.  I dumped the toys in and tried to stick in the freezer.  This is the point where I made a critical error, thinking I could ‘wing it’ when I stuck the big basin of water in the freezer.  Even now I’m shaking my head at my lack of thought!   After I reorganized and cleaned (and got all the water out of the bottom) I found a stable, level surface for the basin and added more water to let the freezer work its magic.  Twice I added more items and water so I had three layers of toys in the ice.  It would have been really cool to color the water different colors so the kids could see the layers.  But I didn’t think of that till this minute.  So if you try it please let me know how it goes!

After I had a large solid block of ice with toys and misc items in it, I gathered the other supplies.  Medicine droppers, blunt table knives, salt (which I added a few drops of food coloring to), and warm water.

The kids loved doing this activity, though my two year old was the first one to get bored with it.  I think he would have liked a thinner layer of ice better so he could get items out easier.  However, my oldest repeated over and over again how fun it was!

IMG_4607

The block of ice.

IMG_4606

The supplies.

IMG_4611

The block of ice waiting in the pool.

IMG_4642

IMG_4666b

Working on freeing a plastic bug.  The water is yellow because of the food coloring I added to the salt.

IMG_4694b

IMG_4639b

IMG_4715e

My oldest still digging after his siblings were done.

IMG_4724b

The leftover ice.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

