Beauty?

Generally I don’t think of spiders as beautiful.  While  I appreciate they eat bugs and can make pretty webs, they usually fall into the ‘eww…get it get it!!’  category.  On occasion I will see a really interesting one and think it is cool…from a distance of course.

Today was one of those rare occasions where I saw it as a source of beauty on my deck.

IMG_5219d

From the green hue of the body to the pattern on her back, or the ‘hairs’ on her legs, this little spider oozes some amazing details.

I also don’t usually see a mess as beautiful.   Instead I ‘see’ the effort required to fix it.  Whether it indicates happy play for my kids, or a learning opportunity for the one who spilled, there is beauty there that I miss.  Far too often.

Yesterday my son was playing with flour on the deck and this is where it spilled.  This morning my daughter drew in the spilled flour.  I love the contrasting patterns of the finger stripes in the flour and the wood of the deck.

IMG_5225b

I think I need to view much of life with new lenses.  Instead of seeing something as unpleasant, I need to look harder for the beauty.  It’s there. Somewhere.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

