Birdy

Several years ago I developed a passion for bird watching.  It’s a simple thing I found to be really centering, so to speak.  I discovered bird watching was a way to find beauty anywhere because they are everywhere.  For example, it might seem like a dirty part of the city, but birds are still there.  An empty field…more birds.  Near my hometown there’s a wastewater treatment plant that is a great place to see unique types of birds!  Spotting a bird reminds me of the beauty God created.

This morning I went for a walk around the lake pond near our house and discovered a visitor.  I didn’t have a camera with me other than my phone (which is horrible for pictures), so I went back later with my 3 yo.

IMG_6344b

One of the awesome things about being a parent is introducing your child to the world.  Helping them discover is truly an amazing experience.  I don’t usually try to ‘bird watch’ with my kids around, other than in our yard, because kids generally don’t love to sit quietly.  Or walk quietly.  Especially if they see a pine cone.  or a bug.  or a stick.  or a leaf.  or anything else remotely interesting.  While this trait is absolutely fantastic, is doesn’t lend itself well to bird observation.  Okay, that’s not entirely true.  It does allow one to see how quickly birds can scatter and hide….

On our way to the lake my son and I had several discussions about being *quiet* so we wouldn’t scare the big white bird. I also gave him a pair of binoculars so he could study nature on his own.  I have to say, despite being three years old and generally loud, he did very well on our walk!  I was able to get a few pictures of this beauty:

IMG_6393b

American White Pelican

IMG_6376b

American White Pelican.
And turtles.

 

 

…until my sweet boy forgot to be quiet.  Here is the Pelican flying away.

IMG_6394b

 

 

So we looked at the turtles instead.

IMG_6402b

My fellow birdwatcher.

IMG_6354b

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gwen lasher
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 15:37:08

    Those were awesome pictures

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

