Conversations with kids

Kids are interesting.  Always.  Sometimes interestingly crazy.  Sometimes interestingly sweet.  Sometimes interestingly disobedient.  Sometimes interestingly funny.  But always interesting.  It’s like reading a reading a really good book and just when you think you’ve figured it out, something unexpected happens.  Or watching a movie that you may have seen before but it still surprises you with it’s humor.  I find so many conversations with kids interesting.  And funny.  And sweet.  And….

 

Here are a few recent conversations with my kids:

 

My Dear Daughter:  Mom?

Me:  Yes?

DD:  *pause*  I forgot what I was going to say.

Me:  Was it, “Mom you’re awesome.  Thanks for taking such good care of me”?

DD:  NO!!

(Well, it was worth a shot.)

 

*************

My Dear Son: You’re wearing all black.

Me:  I have a purple shirt on.  (However, I had on black pants and a black cardigan.)

DS:  You should change.  (Please note this child is 4 years old.)

Me:  Why?

DS:  You look weird.

(Apparently I shouldn’t begin a Goth phase soon.)

 

*************

My Dear Son:  I’m thirsty.

Me:  Drink some of your water.

DS:  I’m thirsty for cake.

(Hmmm, now I’m a bit thirsty for cake.)

 

*************

From a few months ago:

My Dear Son: “Banana” is how you say “Hello” in Spanish! 

Me: “Hola” is how you say Hello in Spanish.  

DS: Well, “Banana” is another way to say “Hello” in Spanish. 

(I wonder how someone would feel if we greeted them with “banana”?  I suppose there are worse greetings.)

2014-09-05 14.31.19

 

*************

And occasionally they’re good for one’s ego:

As I pick up a baking sheet to carry it to the sink, My youngest son asks:  You can do that with one hand?

Me: Yes.

DS:  Woah

(Yes, that’s right, Mommy is All. That.  Please make a note of it, because I’m sure we’ll forget it 2 minutes from now.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

